This is the Real War on the Media and Truth

created Aug 9, 2019

It's not President Trump, Facebook, nor Google. The story mentioned below is the real war, and it won't get the media coverage that it requires. Trump and Big Tech are easy, low-hanging fruit for journalists.

Mediagazer link

Court docs show Monsanto ran a “fusion center” that monitored a Reuters journalist and encouraged negative reviews of her 2017 book on its Roundup weedkiller

Aug 8, 2019 Guardian story titled Revealed: how Monsanto's 'intelligence center' targeted journalists and activists

Posts attached to the Mediagazer link:

Discussion:
Dan Gillmor / @dangillmor: I don't buy the GMO panic (though patenting seeds is profoundly awful), but Monsanto, now part of Bayer, has been one of the worst corporate citizens ever. See this piece on how it's manipulated and threatened journalists, among others. https://www.theguardian.com/ ...
Jane Ferguson / @janeferguson5: This is astonishing. The lengths #Monsanto went to to try to sabotage a reporter's work.... https://twitter.com/...
Kim Severson / @kimseverson: Stay strong, editors: “Monsanto PR staff also internally discussed placing sustained pressure on Reuters, saying they “continue to push back on [Gillam's] editors very strongly every chance we get,” and that they were hoping “she gets reassigned.” https://www.theguardian.com/ ...
Carey Gillam / @careygillam: Several weeks ago @Bayer Sr VP @RayKerins called me to say Bayer was not like Monsanto & wanted to act only in a professional, honest way in dealing with media & the public. I emailed him after our call to ask him to ensure the secret harassment strategies end. He never replied. https://twitter.com/...
Peter Himler / @peterhimler: I'd like to think that most companies are better corporate citizens and thus do not employ the nefarious #PR practices exposed here by @GuardianUS 's @SamTLevin: https://www.theguardian.com/ ...
David Windt / @davidlwindt: ‘Monsanto operated a “fusion center” to monitor and discredit journalists and activists ... The agrochemical corporation also investigated the singer Neil Young and wrote an internal memo on his social media activity and music.’ https://www.theguardian.com/ ...
Colin Lecher / @colinlecher: “also investigated the singer Neil Young” huh https://twitter.com/...
@gmwatch: Private companies might have intelligence centers that monitor legitimate criminal threats, such as cyberattacks, but “it becomes troubling when you see corporations leveraging their money to investigate people who are engaging in their first amendment rights.” #Monsanto https://twitter.com/...
Cory Doctorow / Boing Boing: Monsanto ran a psy-ops war-room to discredit journalists and spy on Neil Young